Ex-Electric Co-op board member wins Aiken Award

C. Allen Gable, a 10-year member of the New Hampshire Electric Cooperative board of directors and former board treasurer, has won the 2006 George D. Aiken Award for his achievements in the rural electric power industry.

Presented annually by the Northeast Association of Electric Cooperatives, the Aiken Award recognizes individuals who exemplify the ideals and practices of George D. Aiken, a Vermont native, governor and U.S. Senator for 34 years who was instrumental in the development of the Rural Electrification Administration, which President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed into law on May 11, 1935.

Gable was key to NHEC’s early adoption of provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley law and helped the Board establish an independent Audit Committee at the Cooperative. He also has been served as president of Meredith Main Street, vice chair of the Meredith Capital Improvements Program Advisory Committee, member of the Meredith Rotary Club and various other town committees. – JEFF FEINGOLD

Categories: News