Democrats name new officers

GREENVILLE – The Democratic Town Committee met briefly on Saturday to name new officers and begin planning for the upcoming elections.

New officers are Chairman Anne McInnes, Vice-Chairman Marguerite Vallaincourt; Secretary Emmy Rainwater; and Treasurer Jim Giddings.

A delegate to the state caucus on May 22 will be named later.

The group decided to look into the possibility of holding a series of public forums with speakers on topics of interest to Greenville residents, including state funding of education and local property taxes. They also voted to join forces with other area Democrats, work more closely with New Ipswich, and to endorse a proposed pledge for all Democratic candidates to fund “an adequate education.”