Mascoma Community Development’s Dick Jennings named Community Banker of the Year

NH Bankers Association honors managing director of community development entity
Nh Bankers Pic

The NH Bankers Association’s 2022 Community Banker of the Year Award, Dick Jennings, center, managing director of Mascoma Community Development, is shown with Ron Magoon, President and CEO of Franklin Savings Bank and current chair of the association, Kristy Merrill, its president.

Dick Jennings, managing director of Mascoma Community Development at Mascoma Bank, has been named the 2022 Community Banker of the Year by the NH Bankers Association.

He was selected by an independent panel that featured elected from New Hampshire, including Senate Majority Leader Jeb Bradley, R-Wolfeboro, Senator Minority Leader Donna Soucy, D-Manchester, and House Commerce Committee Chair, Rep. John Hunt, R-Rindge.

NH Bankers Association President Kristy Merrill said Jennings’s career “is a reflection of his values that civic and community engagement go hand-in-hand with what he does every day as a commercial lender, leveraging both public and private resources to benefit an entire community. Dick exemplifies the spirit of the Community Banker of the Year, and we congratulate him and thank him for his service,” said Kristy Merrill.

In presenting the honor, Jennings was cited for having dedicated his career to promoting and financing affordable housing projects through public Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program. He also has become a regional expert in the federal the New Market Tax Credits program.

Under his leadership, Mascoma Community Development, a community development entity established in 2013 as a wholly-owned subsidiary of Mascoma Bank, has been a key player in a number of significant economic development projects, with more than $230 million in tax credit investment undertaken, many of them in New Hampshire.

Categories: Banking and Finance, News