N.H. architectural excellence honored

Two New Hampshire firms won the top Honor Awards for excellence in architecture at the Jan. 15 New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects’ 26th annual awards banquet.Two Honor Awards were presented to Lavallee Brensinger Architects of Manchester for its work on Windham High School and the Pondside III Residence Hall at Keene State College. Newman Architects of New Haven, Conn., was design architect for the Keene State project.Another Honor Award went to UK Architects of Hanover, which was cited for its Hanover Co-op Community Market project.UK Architects also was among the winners of a Merit Award, this time for its work on Monadnock Mills No 2 & No. 6 in Claremont.Also winning Merit Awards were AG Architects of Dover for the Burning Bridge Sound Studio in Boston, Mass., Dennis Mires The Architects, Manchester, for the Lowell Street addition and renovations to the New Hampshire Institute of Art in Manchester, and O’Neil Pennoyer Architects of Groton, Mass., for the Nubanusit Neighborhood Co-Housing and Farm in Peterborough.Three other firms’ projects received special mention: JSA Inc., Architects and Planners of Portsmouth for the Southeast Residential Community at the University of New Hampshire in Durham; TMS Architects of Portsmouth for Phillips Exeter Academy Faculty Housing in Exeter; and Albert Righter & Tittmann Architects Inc. of Boston for a residence at Squam Lake.Special Mention also was given to Jonathan Hallé and Jason Lacombe of Warrenstreet Architects, Concord, in the Unbuilt Architecture category.Other awards presented at the Manchester event were:• AIANH Intern/Young Architect Design Competition: First place, Brian Murphy and Alyssa Murphy of New Castle; second place, to Nathan Stolarz of TMS Architects, Portsmouth; third place, Christina O’Brien, SISR Architecture, Marlow. The winners received cash awards.• 2010 Clinton Sheerr Award for Excellence in New Hampshire Architecture, John W. Merkle of Exeter, co-founder of TMS Architects. The award honors and promotes New Hampshire architects and their architecture that exemplifies excellence in design at the highest level.

2010 New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects Awards Photo Album