AIANH names Excellence in Architecture winners

The New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects honored six Granite State firms at its 27th Annual Excellence in Architecture Awards Jan. 21 at the New Hampshire Institute of Art, in Manchester.

Honor Awards

The Manchester firm of Lavallee Brensinger received an Honor Award for its expansion and renovation of the corporate offices of IDEXX Laboratories in Westbrook, Maine.

The new, expansive exterior’s clean lines were meant to give a “science” connotation, which was unified with the “earthy” feeling of the zinc-clad panels of the building’s towers.

A “BioCourt” atrium provided an indoor green space, while abundant daylight pours into offices.

The construction manger was Pizzagalli Construction.

The jurors said the project possessed a “great plan integrating old and new” and called the BioCourt “very successful.”

The 3,000-square-foot house in Arroyo Seco, N.M., near Taos, earned Richard Monahon Jr. AIA Architects an Honor Award.

Harkening back to ancient building methods, the firm created 14-inch thick adobe walls reflecting local design and materials, expanding the existing 800-square-foot, two-story house. The inherent radiant heating and cooling of adobe keeps the residence cool in the summer and warm in the winter.

The house received a Build Green New Mexico Gold Level Certificate for meeting building and environmental standards as well as an $11,000 tax credit.

The jurors commented on the home’s “strong fit into environment.”
The lakeside private residence designed by Albert, Righter & Tittmann also earned an Honor Award.

The camp is a new take on the family’s existing nearby camp – also designed by the firm decades earlier – echoing the angular roofline, dynamic arrangement of buildings, and minimalist details of the original

The new construction consists of a main living cabin, a sleeping cabin and a guest cabin. Dividing the camp into three buildings created enough space for the owners’ needs while still maintaining an intimate scale. The arrangement of buildings weaving between existing trees also minimizes impact on the construction site.

KMAC Builders was contractor for this project.

The jurors noted the “lively, striking branch/origami interior framing” and the “kinetic energy” of the full design.

Merit Awards

Samyn D’Elia Architects, of Ashland, received a Merit Award for the renovation of Ashland Schoolhouse.

The firm worked with the Tri-County Action Program Inc. to save the schoolhouse from demolition and to renovate the building into offices, a Head Start pre-school and additional space for future tenants.

The general contractor for the project was Milestone Engineering and Construction Inc.

The jurors called the overall restoration “superb,” saying, “We could not find fault with any part of the restoration.”

Also receiving a Merit Award was Bonin Architects & Associates PLLC of New London, for a lake cottage renovation in New London.

Site renovations included the removal of a second cabin, which allowed for a meandering pathway to a dock as well as substantially opening views to the lake.

The interior design exposed cathedral ceilings and the repositioning of windows and doors captured lakeside views and breezes. Finishes and materials used low- or no-VOC products in keeping with the desire for material reuse and minimal site impact.

The builder was Old Hampshire Designs Inc.

The jurors commented on the “understated” and authentic “simplicity” of the design.

Bonin Architects also received a People’s Choice Award for the project in the residential category.Samyn E’Delia Architects also received a People’s Choice Award in the non-residential category for its design of the Alpine Clinic in Franconia.

Peoples’ Choice Awards are given based on votes submitted online and by ballot conducted during the AIANH Awards Submissions Exhibit at the New Hampshire Institute of Art prior to the event.Recognition was also given to one project in the Unbuilt Architecture Category, designed by associate AIA member Bart Sapeta and artist Jan Sawka for a Peace Monument Complex in Jerusalem, a symbolic artwork honoring the past, present and future efforts of the people of Judaism, Christianity and Islam to coexist peacefully.

AIA Honorary Members

AIA New Hampshire has designated Robert Thoresen and Carolyn Isaak as Honorary Members, given to non-architects who have given distinguished service to the profession.

Thoresen was recognized for his outstanding work and dedication in transforming Portsmouth to a vibrant coastal community, serving many years as the city’s planning director.

Isaak, executive director of the AIANH Chapter, was honored for her service to the chapter and to the architectural community by working to increase the visibility of the state’s architects and the public’s understanding of the profession.

Outstanding Service Award

Bruce Hamilton has been presented with an Outstanding Service Award for his many years of exceptional volunteer service to the chapter. He served on the board of directors for six years holding executive positions as well as a director. He has also chaired the AIANH Education Committee for the entire time of his tenure.

Hamilton is owner and principal of Bruce Ronayne Hamilton Architects in New Ipswich.

Intern/Young Architect Design Awards

Andrew M. Queen, an employee at PCI Architecture in Manchester, was awarded First Place in the AIA New Hampshire’s Intern/Young Architect Design Competition, competing on the design of a school of architecture for the New Hampshire Technical Institute in Concord.

Jurors called Queen’s design “a novel approach at master planning the entire campus not only for the design competition but for the future of the institution.”

Second Place was taken by Brittany and Patrick Grannan, CMK Architects P.A., of Manchester, where jurors noted the design’s view from I-93 and the green roof.

Anthony Nazaka, of Black Bear Drafting LLC, Manchester, was awarded Third Place for his design’s “interesting overall massing strategy.”

The Intern/Young Architect competition was created in 2003 to provide an opportunity for new designers within five years of registration to strengthen their design skills, gain recognition, and assist a community with their design challenges. – CINDY KIBBE