AIANH Awards winners honored


(page 1 of 10)

Nine projects from eight architectural firms have been recognized with the American Institute of Architects New Hampshire Chapter’s 2015 Annual Excellence in Architecture Design Awards.

Selected from 28 submissions, the nine projects were honored for their excellence in overall design, including aesthetics, clarity, creativity, appropriate functionality, sustainability, building performance, and appropriateness with regard to fulfilling the client’s program.

In addition, two buildings were recognized with annual People’s Choice Awards, based on voting by the public: Stone Fence Farm, a residential project designed by Bonin Architects and Associates, New London and Smuttynose Brewing Company’s new facility in Hampton, designed by McHenry Architecture of Portsmouth. The facility was built by Harvey Construction Corp., Bedford, with landscape architecture by Terra Firma Landscape Architecture of Portsmouth.

Besides building projects, awards were presented to individuals for their service to the profession of architecture and to the AIANH Chapter.

Winners included:

• Architect Karolina Jablonska-Burtt of The Architectural Studio in Grantham was cited for her committed leadership of the AIANH Chapter and service to the profession of architecture.

• Architect Matthew Lawton of Connolly Brothers in Beverly, Mass., was honored
for his contributions on the AIANH board of directors in 2013 and 2014 as associate director.

• John W. Hession of Advanced Digital Photography in Dorchester and photographer for New Hampshire Home magazine was recognized for his contributions to
the chapter and to the understanding and promotion of sustainable, energy-efficient design in the state.

The 2015 jury was composed of faculty members of the Boston Architectural Center, including practicing architects. They were Karen Nelson, Thomas Parks AIA, Lee Peters, Ian Taberner and Michael Wolfson.

Click the links below to view the winning projects.

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags